The status of the project is indicated by the blue arrows across the top of the Page & Survey tab. All projects are Live by default. Closing the survey will prevent further responses, but keep the project's data in tact.
Click the Close Project to Responses button to close your project.
This will archive your project's data. You will stil be able to create dynamic reports and manage project lists.
You can un-archive a survey (make it live again) at any time.
How to delete a project
How to un-archive a survey
How to schedule a close date for your project
How to make a draft survey (Draft mode)